Home > Uncategorized > Be careful what you say….you might just get it Part 2

Be careful what you say….you might just get it Part 2


Well this is the sequence to ‘Be careful what you say, you might just get it! Part 1”. So 2 weeks ago we learnt that what we say is very important and holds a lot of power.  If you missed it then please read it 1st before this one so you can really get the drift of this sequel.

Last time I focused on ‘be careful what you say’…and how we can change what we say so we do not negatively affect our lives and the lives of others. Today I am going to focus on the “…or you might just get it”. So what exactly do I mean by that? After all if we say it don’t we want it? Hmm…not always, sometimes we say things that we don’t mean even when they are actually positive things. “Huh” I hear you say…just bare with me you will understand by the end.

Firstly I want us to ensure that what we say is in line with the word and pleasing to God, if it is not, then we should not say it. The bible says “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.”  (Psalm 19:14)

Sometimes when bad things happen to you, could it be that you called it into the existence? A bit far fetched? Well like I said before in part one ‘life and death are in the power of the tongue’ (proverbs 18:21) so what we say can really make a difference to our lives.

Even when we speak positive things or things in line with God’s word, it might bring about an unexpected outcome. For example, I had a problem with patience; I don’t like to wait for things so I confessed with my mouth that I wanted to be more patient (which is obviously a good thing). Then you know what started to happen? The bus started coming late more regularly, traffic jams seemed to occur more in my life, and queues at the supermarket always seemed to be endless. I just began to get more and more frustrated. Then I think it was a message preached by Joyce Meyer that made me realise what had been going on in my life. I had confessed what I wanted in my life and this was the way God was using for it to happen. So what I am saying is when we say something we should be prepared for what may be thrown at you for it to happen. I sometimes wonder whether I would have confessed patience on myself had I known what I’d have to go through LOOOL!! Now don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that we shouldn’t aim to better ourselves but what I am emphasising is that we need to ensure that that is what we really want before we say it. The bible says let your yes be yes and your no be no (Matt 5:37).

My father used to tell me about a song his uncle and aunty used to sing a song that goes:

I’m yours Lord
Everything I’ve got
Everything I am
Everything I’m not.

I’m yours Lord
…………………………
…………………..
Completely yours.

My father always used to waonder why do they leave out a line. So one day he plucked up the courage to ask and it turned out that the missing sentence was “Try me now and see, See if I can be.. LOL. They openly admitted that they did not want to be tried and they knew the power of their words. Sounds silly but the foundation is there. Of course if pleasing God and living a life that is Holy and acceptable to Him is your main priority, then going through trials for Him is not something you would necessarily shy away from. Some of us cry out to God oh “why why why are we going through this” and begin to bind the devil when in fact you caused it on yourself through our words. But the good news is that if we take time to learn from the trails that we are facing, we will most certainly come out of it stronger (John 16:33).

So what I am trying to bring out of this is that we need to take note of what we say, take time to listen to what we are saying so that when situations or things happen that are as a result of what we say then they will know and understand how to act in such situations rather than getting frustrated. I am not trying to discourage people from positive confessions I’m just making them focus on what they are saying. I saw a facebook group a while ago called “70,000,000 people who are ready to die for Jesus”, of course this is a great thing but if they are ever put in that position many of them will forget they ever joined this group and cry out to God and begin to bind and rebuke the devil. Don’t just do or say things out of impulse or because everyone else is doing it, please ensure that you watch what you say because…you might just get it.

Stay blessed

Sinceress  xx

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 25, 2010 at 1:10 am

    hi wats your myspace page

    • May 31, 2010 at 5:48 pm

      we don’t have one, but we have a facebook page which is ‘truspire sophia’ please feel free to add us 🙂

  2. May 28, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    • May 31, 2010 at 5:48 pm

      Thank you for your words of encouragement…

  1. May 17, 2010 at 2:13 am

Leave a Reply

