Home > Uncategorized > Be careful what you say…You might just get it! (Part 1)

Be careful what you say…You might just get it! (Part 1)


Today conversation is frivolous, talk literally is cheap (or free). We can converse though mobile phones, skype, youtube, facebook, twitter etc. All we do is talk, yet the bible says that our words are so powerful, that our tongues hold life and death (Proverbs 18:20)

“..And God said, let there be light and there was light” Genesis 1:3. God formed the earth with his words alone. This just shows the power of words, in  Psalms 33:6 it says By the Word of the Lord were the heavens made and all their host by the breath of his mouth. Just as He spoke the world into existence, so also we speak things into existence. What we say shapes our lives for better or for worse. Also, it’s not only yourself you can affect with your words, you’re in danger of changing someone else’s life through gossip and loose talk.

The devil has made it so easy for us to curse ourselves on a daily basis, by deceiving us into believing negative words can be used for good….IT’S A LIE!! Remember when it was ‘cool’ so say something is ‘wicked’…or even now people say ‘that’s bad’ or ‘that’s sick’ and they are referring to positive situations. What kind of twisted world do we live in that bad becomes good?! If I decided to create a new slang like ‘cursed’ and go round using it positively like ‘oh you’re cursed’ or ‘how cursed is that?’ would that be ok…NO!!! So why is ok to say ‘how sick is that?’ as if that is not a curse in itself. To be honest i’m not a fan of how far slang has gone, why can’t we just speak proper English?! I mean it’s ok once in a while (and in the right environment) but some people take it too far. I saw someone on facebook trying to create new slang words…for what reason?! but I digress (:P) . Anyways….   I used to think my mum was some kill-joy because she never allowed us to use slang particularly negative ones and I just couldn’t understand why, after all, their just words. That’s a direct lie from the devil sent to destroy our lives. The Bible says….

Psalm 140:3 They sharpen their tongues as a serpent; Poison of a viper is under their lips. Selah.

Ecclesiastes 10:11 If the serpent bites before being charmed, there is no profit for the charmer.

Romans 3:13 “Their throat is an open grave with their tongues they keep deceiving.” “The poison of asps is under their lips. 

James 3:6 And the tongue is a fire, a world of unrighteousness. The tongue is set among our members, staining the whole body, setting on fire the entire course of life, and set on fire by hell

Proverbs13:3
He who guards his mouth preserves his life, but one who talks too much comes to ruin.

Jesus raised Lazarus from the dead with just His words (John 11: 43-44) he commanded the seas and the waves with his words (Mark 4:39) and he healed the sick with his words (Matt 8: 8-9). Jesus’ words changed the lives of each every one of those people and your words have the same power. Yet we use it to shoot ourselves in the foot. I’d always known the importance of words (thanks to my mother), but recently God had to remind me because I have the tendency to get away in the conversation (as I’m sure many of us do) and say things we don’t mean or want but unfortunately that doesn’t change the effect of them. My friends and I were complaining of the hardships of exams and they were saying how they don’t know how they are going to get top marks or even pass for that matter. I stupidly opened my mouth and added my own negativity to the situation and within me I felt something sink, the Holy Spirit let me know what I had just done. I went back to my room and prayed against those words. Some of you may say I overreacted, or it’s not that bad but the bible says “you are snared by the words of your mouth…” Proverbs 6:2.To be snared is to be entrapped, not being able to escape. What I did was using my most powerful weapon, my words (positively through prayer), to undo what they had done.

So what can we do to change this? Well firstly the Bible says “but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison” (James 3:8). This does not mean we should be resigned to destroying ourselves with that loaded shotgun we call a tongue, rather we must look to God, we must ask him to help us, and we must look to His Word.

Stay tuned for part 2……. (note: this will be in 2 weeks)

Sinceress xx

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Aaron G
    May 3, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    Wonderful! I look forward to part 2…

  2. May 4, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Great article. Our words do have much more impact than we are probably aware; they come from the heart, via the mind into our speech and out through our behaviour. Changing our heart and mind, is easier said than done, but can be done and improves our attitude to ourselves and those around us. For those who have accepted Jesus as their Saviour, we have the additional power of The Holy Spirit assisting us in Jesus Name, which is above every name.

  1. May 2, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Leave a Reply

