Home > Uncategorized > My Valentines Wish List…..

My Valentines Wish List…..


During this season of LURRRV, I attended true love waits by ‘I do not conform to this world’ which might I say was pretty good. Can just say a BIG UP to Anita Amadi for her book called ‘Why you should wait’, after you’ve read that book there truly isn’t any reason why we can’t abstain from sex until marriage. God bless her deeply and I would recommend all of you to try and get your hands on that book, it’s a MUST read! But what really grabbed my attention this season was the video made by pastor Justin Cox call how to ‘game up a church girl’ (seriously, I love this guy he gives me sooooo much jokes looooooooool).  Although I wouldn’t necessarily say it described me but it made me realise how far I’ve from my superficial self lool.

I remember watching Benny Hinn’s daughter’s wedding a couple of years ago and I recall her saying something like she made a list of what she wanted in a guy. I loved the idea so much that I thought I’d make a list too (to prove to myself I was old enough to have a boyfriend as my mum used to say “why do you need a man, you don’t even know what you want  in a man”. You will soon see she was right loool).

This was my ideal guy (year 8 )

  • A Christian
  • Light skinned (preferably mixed race)
  • Corns rows (but can’t have longer hair than me)
  • American
  • Muscles
  • Older than me (but not too old)
  • Has a good education
  • A good job
  • Nice person
  • Listens to me
  • Must be willing to marry young (about 18)

Lord knows what I was thinking at the time, especially the last one which I have clearly failed to accomplish…thank God.  Now I’m not dissing anyone who fits this criteria but it is clear my criteria wasn’t based on God’s word. Well I’m glad to say that my wish list has had a much needed face lift! Guys listen up too so you know what you should be working towards 😛

My ideal guy (NOW)

  • A born-again Christian – 2Corinthians 6:14 clearly says we should not unequally yoked to unbelievers. Also, our beliefs and theology must be pretty much the same e.g. belief that the bible ultimate authority in our lives and that Jesus died on the cross AND rose again. Trust me, such things cannot be assumed just because someone professes to be ‘born-again’.
  • Must be active within the church/ministry– I’m VERY active in church, so how can I have a Sunday-to-Sunday man who will be asking “so when are we leaving?” KMT!  (check out 1timothy 3:13)
  • Be a leader– In Ephesians 5:22 it says the husband is the head of the wife. If I am to submit to a man and he is to be my head, he must know where he’s going; I haven’t got time for indecisive people! I need a man that knows God’s word and can lead me and our children in the way that pleases God.
  • Must love God and put Him First – The bible says God is love so if he is doesn’t have  relationship with God ho can love me?!
  • Must value and love me– the bible says in proverbs 18:22 ’he who finds a wife finds a good thing’. I believe that it is referring to the proverbs 31 kind of wife here and if I am striving to be that type of woman I need a man that appreciates that alie?! Ladies watch the way his treats his mother, because he’s unlikely to treat you any better!
  • Does not trust himself– One thing I admire about my father is that they know that, as spirit-filled as they may be, their flesh is weak (Matt 26:41). He needs to put his trust in God so that no matter what happens we can rest assured that we’ve done what God says. A man who trusts himself is setting himself to fall e.g. spending LOADZA time alone with a woman who is not your wife ¬_¬ which brings me on to my next point.
  • Must be faithful – BOOOOOOOOI! When I not so fervent in the faith my friends and I used to scheme about what we would do to a cheating man (they’re just too horrific to write down lool). I would be lying if I said I wouldn’t be tempted to use any of them in this situation.  KAI! (Exodus 20:14)
  • Takes his wedding vows seriously – WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW. This is VERRRY IMPORTANT to me, particularly ‘…till death do us part’. Aint no one getting a divorce in my house…ARE YOU MAD?! The bible speaks against divorce numerous times Matt 19:3-9, Mark 10: 2-12 etc. I’ve even etched out the meaning of it in my dictionary…it does not exist to me. That means if the word ‘Prenup’ enters his mouth ima shank him (but that’s a sin :S)….loooooool!! If you think you made the wrong choice sorry but just like Abigail (1samuel 25:3), deal with it!
  • Must be accepted by my family– I am VERY close with my family and I cannot and will bring anyone that will disrupt this, especially with regards to my father. My parents are very reasonable people and would not adamantly disapprove unless they had serious reasons. The bible says seek peace with all men Romans 12:18.

Well these are just a few essentials the list goes on e.g. must be able to handle my siblings, may not be scriptural but this is for his own sake or they’ll finish him lool. I hope this has helped the ladies to set their standards high but not with carnal stuff, rather, base it on the word of God. Fellas, I hope this helps you to know what to aim for. I’m looking for a 1 timothy 3 kinda guy not a Nabal (1samuel 25)…naa it’s not about marrying a fool!!! It would be nice to hear what you are looking for in a guy or a girl, leave your comments below or on Facebook. God bless.

Coming soon: How detailed is God’s plan for our life?

P.S. If you are a 1timothy 3 Kinda guy and fit the list above den boi God bless u with a good woman 😀

Sinceress xx

If u have time, check out Pastor Justin Cox’s ’15 Questions Christian women need to ask a man before getting involved with him’ very useful…

 

  1. Sharon kerr- rabbles
    March 1, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Thanx 4 once again shinin light on an issue we most often overlook. When i was younger i dreamt of gettin married to a ”fairytale prince” tall, handsome n rich but at 20 though some still hold i dont think they are as important as the fellow being a god fearing christian who wouldn’t take out of my life but rather help me grow daily into a better person than i was the day before. Thanx 4 remindin me of the qualities i must look out 4 even though society today doesn’t consider it anymore esp in my university. God bless u

    • March 2, 2010 at 9:36 am

      thank you my sister, God bless you, look out for our next blog called “why Jesus”
      even though we are christians already, those that are not we pray will become after reading this, and it will equip believers in tools of evangelism.
      please spread to your friends, and keep following the blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

