Home > Uncategorized > Hearing From God

Hearing From God


Now before I start, I warn you that there is no amazing formula that I’ve found out but it’s something that God has recently brought to my attention in that it’s something we as a body seem to struggle with even though it should be so easy (John 10:3-5).  Many preachers have tackled this topic and although I may touch on what they have said, I would advice you to look through them yourself, particularly Andrew Wommack’s article. I will try and take you through my personal experience.

There was a time when I just couldn’t grasp the concept of hearing from God. It seemed so difficult and farfetched (especially for someone who doesn’t jus speak what she thinks so there’s a lot going on in my mind so differentiating voices seemed difficult). I seemed to get confused with my own voice and God’s voice.  I would pray and pray and pray for God to speak to me, but I would get NOTHING NADA NOTHING!!! So I asked my mum lool (you will hear a lot about here, she’s full of soo much wisdom and advice and I pray that it will bless you as much as it has me). She said that some people are lucky enough to have this amazing, supernatural encounter with God where He reveals Himself like He did to Moses, but for the rest of us, it’s a process. It takes patience (something I lacked).

The first thing is to SHAARRUP (aka stop talking)! Lool all we do is talk talk talk, how is God meant to get a word in edgeways if we won’t breathe long enough for him to speak. We must take some time to be still and just let him speak. This should be a time that we give all our focus and attention to God, forgetting about out busy lives.

Another thing my mum said was practice hearing his voice in trivial situations such as whether to wait for the bus or to walk (now that’s a question we have all struggled with before, most of us choosing the wrong option) or where to stand on the train platform so the doors are in front of you. Such things may seem pointless but, would you rather practice when it’s time to get married?!…..I think not!!

Third is to meditate on his word. When you read the bible, don’t just read the words spend some time pondering on what God wants you to get out of it. What I have found is that the voice in your head that may sound like you speaking is not necessarily you. The truth is the more time to spend with Him, the clearer His voice will become.

God may decide you impress something on your spirit, usually we disregard this as our own thoughts also, but it’s God. We need to tune into our spirit rather than rely on our flesh. If we are lucky God will give us a confirmation. There have been many occasions where I have dismissed God’s word, thinking it was my own thoughts only to read my devotional the very thing I had dismissed. However, God will not always do that; we need to learn to trust what God tells us through our spirit.

It’s such a blessing to hear God’s voice and know that He is with you. It’s amazing to have God to help me make everyday decisions. We have to remember that God has an opinion on everything and He will gladly give it to you if you ask. A while back I remember asking God “why is it that You speak to me so often now?” And His response was “I’ve always been speaking, you’ve only just started listening”. That’s when it hit me, I had not been tuned into the right frequency, the more time you spend with God the more you are in line with His thoughts.

Lately I’ve been struggling with clarity on big things the God wants me to do. I mean I could feel that there is something He wants me to do, but I didn’t seem to be getting it. Anyway, I shared it with a friend asking that they join me in prayer; she sent me the Andrew Wommack’s article that I referred to earlier. While reading it I realised that it wasn’t that I wasn’t hearing from God, it was that I didn’t want to accept what He had to say. People this is something we must be careful about, when you start hearing from God it’s amazing but you have to be prepared to hear things that you don’t want to hear and this may be difficult because it means you have to act on it. But I guarantee that such changes will only make you life better because God knows what’s best for you. For example  I’ve been trying to think of what God would have me write for this week and it literally came to me now (it’s 3:54am) and He told me write it now! I don’t know why (it may have something to do with the fact that I’m procrastinator lool) but I’ve chosen to obey Him and I pray you do too.

I close with the words of Spiderman’s uncle ‘with great power comes great responsibility’ haha….na but seriously, Hearing from God is a gift, listening to what He says and applying it to our lives is a responsibility  that I urge you all to take up because, I promise, you’ll be better for it!

Sinceress xx

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 14, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Hello,
    I saw your URL in “blog promotion” in wordpress. I came to visit, glad I did. I, too, like talking to God, but as you said, sometimes we have to shut up to hear him.
    I also give thanks every night instead of boring Him with requests.
    What I always ask is that I learn to have MORE faith in Him, to believe that only heaven is worth fighting for.
    Keep up the good work.

    • February 14, 2010 at 10:26 pm

      amen sister, keep on, like the bible says, psalm 46:10, be still and know that he is God.
      please continue reading our blog,
      the next entry is on “going through the motions”.
      thank you Godbless
      seeker.x.x.

  2. Sharon kerr- rabbles
    February 21, 2010 at 9:19 am

    I’m really very speechless now.just this morning i was battlin with hearin from god. Thanks so much. God bless u n give u the grace to continue with ur good works.

    • February 21, 2010 at 2:31 pm

      thank you sister
      may God continue to uphold and sustain you
      please continue to follow and support
      🙂

  3. March 7, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Brilliant content! This will aid most of us find out about this matter. Would you like to include video clips together with these? It would undoubtedly help out. Your explanation was spot on and owing to you; I probably will not discuss all sorts of things to my friends. I can easily point them here.

    • March 10, 2010 at 2:26 pm

      thank you for your support and thank God
      It’s only by His grace that I know what to say
      With regards to videos..hmmm… it is something we have considered but possibly in the future sometime (as the Spirit leads)..
      And yes pls continue to follow and spread the word
      Our next blog entry will be out soon (later today or tomorrow by God’s grace)
      God bless
      Sinceress xx

  4. March 8, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Hello, it looks like your site is up and coming in the

    • March 10, 2010 at 2:27 pm

      Thank u very much for your support
      Sinceress xx

  5. March 9, 2010 at 12:52 am

    This is a really nice blog you got here. The theme is great! Color combination is awesome.

    • March 10, 2010 at 2:28 pm

      thnx so much..please keep us in your prayers so we continue to do the will of God
      God Bless
      Sinceress xx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

